PMI Exam

A new requirement since I last did an instructor course is the passing of the Principles and Methods of Instruction (PMI) exam, otherwise known as the Flight Instructor Rating (FIR) exam. I sat the exam this week.

Principles and Methods of Instruction revolves around the fundamentals of teaching as a flight instructor. Everything from human needs, how people learn, motivation, lesson plans and communication are assessed by the exam. I did cover these things last time, in less detail however, and there was no exam requirement. The pass mark is 75% and I’m happy to say that I passed on my first attempt with a mark of 86%.

For anyone thinking about becoming a flight instructor or taking this exam soon, whether in Australia or anywhere else, the best study material is the FAA’s Aviation Instructor’s Handbook which can be found free here.

Leave a comment